Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar Yoga in Bristol

Learn the three elements of technique, sequencing and timing in Bristol

The Iyengar method of Yoga may be said to define itself as different from other styles of Yoga by 3 key elements: technique, sequence and timing: Technique means that in practice one learns ever finer adjustments in the alignment of how one performs asana and pranayama. Sequence refers to mainly varying which postures are practiced after which, the mental and emotional effects of the practice can be intensified in a manner not otherwise possible. Timing refers to the length of time spent in postures or pranayama. Postures cannot be done swiftly or without awareness, otherwise the potential effects and benefits remain small compared to what is possible.

The Iyengar certification process is highly rigorous, assuring you of a teacher who practices and is well trained in the art, science, and philosophy of yoga.

Teacher training includes the study of anatomy, physiology, philosophy, first aid and practical teaching methods. The student has to be assessed on their personal practice, teaching & theory knowledge before becoming a teacher. Iyengar Yoga is suitable for all types of people and all levels of fitness.

This week's classes
YF class2018-49-2
Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about our events.

Close Menu